The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial Foundation, Incorporated, was founded on January 30, 1989, by (Standing):  Richard L. Wilson, Jr., Martin Jackson, Joseph Simmons, Marcus Ellison, Gary Thomas, Andre Neal, (Seated): Lannie Payne, Ju'Coby Pittman. Not pictured: Willa Smith, and Corlette Brown.

Current Board of Directors

Mr. Joseph Carswell

Mr. Russell Earl, Jr.

Ms. Angela Lee

Mr. Gene Logan

.Ms. Monique McCarthy

Mr. Andr'e Neal

Ms. Darlene Neal

Ms. Deborah Standley

Mr. Gary Thomas

Mr. Richard L. Wilson, Jr.

Mrs. Rochelle Wilson



The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Memorial Foundation, Incorporated, was established on January 30, 1989, to honor the memory and legacy of one of the most important historical figures of the 20th century.

In order to promote and further the ideals and the philosophy of this internationally renowned leader, we will coordinate annually, on the weekend of the Federal observance of the birthday of Dr. King, a host of activities commemorating the history of the Civil Rights Movement. 

As the life of Dr. King has, effectively, been reduced to a single sentence, (“I Have a Dream”) we are committed to presenting an accurate reflection of the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King during the Civil Rights Movement.

Additionally, we will undertake special projects each year that are reflective of the works of  Dr. King and others whose struggles for freedom, justice, and equality have been ignored or forgotten in the mist of history. 

Among the projects we will undertake are food drives to feed the hungry, scholarship awards, youth programs, field trips, voter education, community economic empowerment, and other topics of community interest.

The Foundation considers itself to be a non-partisan, independent entity whose sole intent is, in the words of Dr. King, “…To feed the hungry, to clothe the naked…. And just try to love somebody.”

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Foundation, Inc.